From Away

The tales of a nomadic Islander

Asshats Part Deux

Why do people feel the need to rip off other website’s stylesheets, contact forms, layouts, icons….

Take a look at this: http://www.livingproof.us. Have a close look at the navigation, contact form, comments layout, comments and permalinks icons, etc. Not to mention in this post he takes credit for my work.

Damn, stuff like this frustrates the hell outta me…

(I couldn’t find an email address on his site, and the contact form didn’t work because of the PHP error checking I had built in, so if anyone could find me an email address for this guy so I could contact him directly, I’d appreciate it.)

Update: The offending site has been taken down, and I’ve received an email apology from the owner. I guess the matter is resolved, but this still bugs me. I wish that people would see that stealing another’s work is still wrong regardless of the intentions. And not only stealing it, but claiming it as your own…

Post a job. Find one. authenticjobs.com

Comments

There are 10 comments on this post.

  • John Oxton
  • Website
  • February 17, 2005 at 01:33 PM
Hey Jeff, I left a comment for your friend there... his blog seems to have vanished! odd that! ;-)
  • Jeff
  • February 17, 2005 at 01:35 PM
Thanks John. Imagine that! You'd think he had pirated someone else's work or something...
  • Kevin Millman
  • Website
  • February 17, 2005 at 01:38 PM
lol -- if you ever need a contact for someone and can't find it on their site visit www.dnsstuff.com and try doing a WHOIS lookup, for personal sites you can generally get the real contact information of someone.
  • John Oxton
  • Website
  • February 17, 2005 at 01:38 PM
Heh! Yeah.. shame too.. it was a really nice site!!
  • Jeff
  • February 17, 2005 at 01:40 PM
@Kevin: I was planning on hitting up internic, but I thought that I might have been overlooking the address on the site.
  • Dale Cruse
  • Website
  • February 17, 2005 at 04:01 PM
A quick allwhois.com search reveals the site owner to be a Tyler Suggs. Domain Name: LIVINGPROOF.US Domain ID: D2353675-US Sponsoring Registrar: TUCOWS INC. Domain Status: clientTransferProhibited Domain Status: clientUpdateProhibited Registrant ID: TUDNEOBHXQ0VU9ZW Registrant Name: Tyler Suggs Registrant Organization: Tyler Suggs Registrant Address1: 104 Wyandot Street Registrant City: Darlington Registrant State/Province: South Carolina Registrant Postal Code: 29532 Registrant Country: United States Registrant Country Code: US Registrant Phone Number: +1.8433951958 Registrant Email: TySuggs@msn.com Registrant Application Purpose: P3 Registrant Nexus Category: C11 Administrative Contact ID: TUDNEOBHXQ0VU9ZW Administrative Contact Name: Tyler Suggs Administrative Contact Organization: Tyler Suggs Administrative Contact Address1: 104 Wyandot Street Administrative Contact City: Darlington Administrative Contact State/Province: South Carolina Administrative Contact Postal Code: 29532 Administrative Contact Country: United States Administrative Contact Country Code: US Administrative Contact Phone Number: +1.8433951958 Administrative Contact Email: TySuggs@msn.com Administrative Contact Application Purpose: P3 Administrative Contact Nexus Category: C11 Billing Contact ID: TUDNEOBHXQ0VU9ZW Billing Contact Name: Tyler Suggs Billing Contact Organization: Tyler Suggs Billing Contact Address1: 104 Wyandot Street Billing Contact City: Darlington Billing Contact State/Province: South Carolina Billing Contact Postal Code: 29532 Billing Contact Country: United States Billing Contact Country Code: US Billing Contact Phone Number: +1.8433951958 Billing Contact Email: TySuggs@msn.com Billing Contact Application Purpose: P3 Billing Contact Nexus Category: C11 Technical Contact ID: TUDNEOBHXQ0VU9ZW Technical Contact Name: Tyler Suggs Technical Contact Organization: Tyler Suggs Technical Contact Address1: 104 Wyandot Street Technical Contact City: Darlington Technical Contact State/Province: South Carolina Technical Contact Postal Code: 29532 Technical Contact Country: United States Technical Contact Country Code: US Technical Contact Phone Number: +1.8433951958 Technical Contact Email: TySuggs@msn.com Technical Contact Application Purpose: P3 Technical Contact Nexus Category: C11 Name Server: NS2.DOMAINMONGER.COM Name Server: NS1.DOMAINMONGER.COM Created by Registrar: TUCOWS INC. Last Updated by Registrar: TUCOWS INC. Domain Registration Date: Mon May 13 02:03:09 GMT 2002 Domain Expiration Date: Fri May 12 23:59:59 GMT 2006 Domain Last Updated Date: Fri Jan 14 06:30:10 GMT 2005 >>>> Whois database was last updated on: Thu Feb 17 22:58:29 GMT 2005
  • Jeff
  • Website
  • February 17, 2005 at 04:07 PM
Thanks Dale. This issue has actually since been resolved. I'll post an update when I get home from work.
  • Jared Christensen
  • Website
  • February 23, 2005 at 02:42 PM
I actually had someone email me with questions about Textpattern and a link to their website. When I got there, I found he had ripped my whole site, minus the images. Even my favicon/professional logo hadn't been changed, and he was syndicating my articles! I know he had every intention of changing everything, but I still had to send him a stern email explaining just how far in the wrong he was. Luckily, he was co-operative and took everthing down. Still, what are people thinking?
  • Jeff Smith
  • Website
  • February 23, 2005 at 05:55 PM
My situation was somewhat the same Jared. I'm really not sure what these people are thinking. I mean, I really don't care if they learn/dissect my code, but directly ripping off layouts and css files? That's a little too much. I was also lucky that this chap was quick to remove the material as well.
  • A Look Back » From Away
  • Website
  • February 03, 2006 at 01:37 PM

...the winter kept me very busy but were somewhat uneventful. The former design for this site was ripped on a couple of occasions. SXSW...

Leave a Comment

Sorry, comments for this post are closed.